Who We Are

Meet the people who are working to keep local history alive!


The Board of Directors for the Historical Society of Wells and Ogunquit meets on the last Tuesday of the month in the Esselyn Perkins Library at the Meetinghouse.  All members are welcome.  Please contact us if you plan to attend.

Interested in joining our Board or becoming one of our valued volunteers? We'd love to hear from you!



We were very happy to have Bryce Waldrop join us in July 2020 as our new Executive Director.  Originally from upstate New York, Bryce moved to southern Maine in 2011 with his wife and two daughters and enjoys living in our beautiful and historic area.  With his background in architecture and historic preservation, Bryce brings 25 years of experience as a preservation architect and architectural historian, making him a perfect fit for the Society.  Bryce loves old buildings, houses, art, hiking, writing, and exploring new-old places with his family.  Please join us in welcoming Bryce!

TOWN HISTORIAN - Hope Moody Shelley

Not a day goes by that we are not grateful for the steady and enthusiastic assistance of Wells Town Historian Hope Moody Shelley.  Hope became involved with the Historic Preservation Commission in the 1970’s and joined the Historical Society in 1978. She was Society President from 1978 to 1981 and again in the 1990’s.

Hope became the Wells Town Historian in 1992 and still serves in that role today.  She’s written many articles on history for several local newspapers and she started our Waves & Furrows newsletter.  She also developed and co-authored the “Wandering through Wells” series and was heavily involved in coordinating the Town’s 350th celebration in 2003.


Hope has written several books, including Beaches of Wells; Vital Records of Wells Maine 1619-1950; and My Name is Wells, I am the Town.  She also transcribed the 18th-century journal of John Littlefield and led the effort to locate and document the 200-plus private cemeteries in Wells.

Growing up locally, Hope attended Wells schools, where she marched in the band, played sports, and excelled in academics.  After graduating in 1952, Hope had a career in nursing and also served as School Nurse in Wells Schools.

After devoting more than 40 years to volunteerism in the town of Wells, Hope was recognized as the 2018 Wells Volunteer of the Year.  And she's still at it, helping us answer the frequent queries that come to us from people all over the world who are researching local history and genealogy.  Thank you, Hope!


We are grateful every day for the hard work and varied talents of our volunteers.  From leading guided tours to organizing our archives to carpentry work and more, our volunteers get it done.  A big thank you to Bill Farr, Bonnie Johnson, Lorraine Morse, Tommy Esson, and Chuck MacDonald.  We couldn't do it without you!